PDA

View Full Version : Surf Fishing in Wildwood Crest

Pete7072
06-10-2007, 11:12 AM
I'm pretty new to surf fishing. I've been practicing my cast which is a start. Anyone know what some good bait to use and any tips on what kind of fish I'll be getting and any tips to help me out in Wildwood. Thanks ! :fishing:

RuddeDogg
06-10-2007, 12:31 PM
Striper, blues, weak fish and flounder are being caught. Clams and mackerel seem to be the baits of choice.

Pete7072
06-10-2007, 04:49 PM
I have a 10' rod and spinner 15lb test any tips on how to set it all up. I'm thinking of using 5 or 6 ounce weight with the prongs on it ( also known as a spider weight ) so it'll help grab the sand. I just need some tips as far as how much string I should give from the weight to the bait .Thanks for everything :confused:

junkmansj
06-10-2007, 06:08 PM
Good Rule of thumb is 10# of shock leader test for every ounce of sinker weight, 5 OZ =50# shock leader. Shock leader shood be twice the distance from the reel to the tip of your rod PLUS 5 turns around reel Spool. You will also need waders to get out to the 1st Bar at Low Tide

Pete7072
06-11-2007, 11:00 AM
Thanks I'll definitly use that advice. I refuse to go out to the first bar LOL. I go every year and about a year ago I swam out to the first bar just to see how far it was and I was bumped pretty hard by some sand paper skin:eek: . I swam back pretty damn fast trying to avoid staying on the surface. I'm going to be using fresh shelled clams for bait.

RuddeDogg
06-11-2007, 11:12 AM
You can also try the toll bridge over on ocean drive between wildwood crest and cape may. Ya don't need waders and they have been catchin fish.

parkstreet1234
06-11-2007, 07:02 PM
Yea, I was just fishing there. Use clams. I walked out in the water with flip flops, but it is better if you have some other kind of shoes, because they cut into the sides of my feet from dragging them in the water.